Hickory Golf Association

Winners and Recognitions of the 33rd Annual Heart of America Hickory

August 03, 2010
Members of the Golf Collector’s Society, The Society of Hickory Golfers, and The Hickory Golf Association joined forces to conduct the Flagship Hickory Tournament of region 7 known as the “ Heart of America” in this year’s Championship, recently held in the greater Des Moines Metro area.

38 players teed it up in temperatures that were high in the 90’s with a heat index that reached 107. It made some traditionalist “walkers” say hello to a golf cart for the first time since you could buy Po-Dos at Walgreen’s.

The scores were hot as well as Randy Jensen (74) of Omaha re-claimed the Open Division Title from Dr. Dave Brown (77) who placed second. Brown had won the 2009 title at the Field Club of Omaha.

The Open Division Net winner was Gary Swenson (63) of Kelley, Iowa and Bryan Doughman (67) of Omaha, Ne. placed second.

The Ladies Medal Division winner was Jeanne Swenson (84) of Kelley, Iowa. Chris Shanahan of Shelby, Nebraska was second, and Debra Herrington of St. Louis, Mo. Placed third.

The Senior Medal winner was Dr. Gary Wiren (75), proving that he has lost very little game since winning the forerunner to this tournament in 1976. The tourney was then called the “World Hickory Hacker” Tournament

34 years later, this PGA Hall of Fame Member comes back home to Iowa and reclaims a title. Second Place in the Senior Medal Division was Mark Wellman of Des Moines, Iowa with a score of ( 80 ).

The Senior Net Division winner was Mike Enich (64) of Pengilly, Mn. Over Bill Reed (66), of Des Moines, Iowa.

The Winning Scramble Team (61) was lead by Marcus Jones, Ames, Ia.,Jeff and Christie Wendel, Ankeny, Ia. And Kevin Beard, host Pro at Otter Creek.

The 2nd place Scramble team featured Gregg Dress of Omaha, Nebraska, John Ausen, Des Moines, Iowa, Rives McBee, former PGA and Champions Tour Player, now region 4 director for the Golf Collector’s Society, living in Irving, Texas, and ( I kid you not ) Bobby Jones Jr. of Des Moines, Iowa.

Limited space prevents full acknowledgement of all players and scores.

Submitted by William W. Reed – Heart of America Tournament Director.