Hickory Golf Association

Results and recap: 37th Annual Heart of America Hickory Championship

July 27, 2014
Results and recap: 37th Annual Heart of America Hickory Championship Image

The Grand Daddy of modern hickory golf was conducted July 18,19,20, 2014 at the Bright-Grandview Golf Course in Des Moines, Iowa. This flagship hickory tournament began in 1978 by past GCS president Warren "Ole" Olson and has been held in GCS region # 7 ever since. Grandview was originally built in 1902 as a 9 hole layout and was redesigned with 18 holes of play in the spring of 1911. 52 registered players and guests converged at Des Moines to experience this hickory players delight. Friday's play got under way with a preview round that included 2 man better ball play. As the pairings were by choice with very diverse handicaps involved, the results were computed by a combined reserve formula. The Friday winners were as follows:

1st Place went to the team of Gary Trapani (Lincoln Park, Mi.) and Lloyd Slinglend (Trenton, Mi.) with a reserve score of 55.

2nd Place went to the team of John Roth (Mills River, NC.) and Jim Jeselnick (Chesterton,In.) with a reserve score of 56.

3rd Place went to the team of Russ Fisher & Bob Baldus (both of Des Moines) with a reserve score of 60.

Friday evening's reception and entertainment was held at nearby Prairie Meadows Racetrack & Casino, where the Hickory Golf Association reserved the Trackside Pavillion on the final turn of the thoroughbred race track. The 7th race was sponsored by the HGA in honor of this long standing hickory tournament of region 7 of the Golf Collectors Society. One player stated that this was the first time he was able to place a wager on a racehorse as an official function of a hickory event. His horse won by 4 lengths going wire to wire.

The 36 hole results from Saturday and Sunday play are as follows:

Scramble Division- 2 Man Team: 1st Place went to Rives McBee and Corey Miller (both of Irving,Tx.)

Scramble Division- 2 Man Team: 2nd Place went to Dean Townsend & Jerry Reed (both of Des Moines).

Ladies Division: Jeanne Swenson of Kelley, Iowa won the Gold Medal in the Ladies Division

Open Division Medal Play: 1st Place: John Berggren (Kingwood, Tx.)    78/76  =154 medal

                                      2nd Place: Richard Bullock (Clearwater, Fl.)   79/79 = 158 medal

                                      3rd Place: Dan Chand  (Carrolton, Tx.)            81/83 = 164 medal

Open Division Reserve:   1st Place : Chris Hardy (Port Byron, Illinois)      64/65 = 129 net

                                    2nd Place:  Larry Krebsbach (Linciln, Ne.)         65/77 = 142 net

                                    3rd Place:  David McDonald  (Wasugal, Wa.)     72/74 = 146 net

Senior Division Medal:   1st Place:  John Piffer     (Indianola, Iowa)           78/76 = 154 medal

                                   2nd Place: John Hutton   (Lakewood, Co.)          76/81 = 157 medal

                                  3rd Place:  Bobby Jones  (Urbandale, Iowa)         78/80 = 158 medal

Sr. Division Reserve:   1st Place:   Ed Ronco      (Wyandotte, Mi.)           63/68 = 131 net

                                 2nd Place: Jim Jeselnick  (Chesterton, In.)            66/66 = 132 net

                                 3rd Place:  Mark Larson   (Rushford, Mn.)              64/68 = 132 net

Statesman Division:    1st Place   Bill Reed (Des Moines, Iowa)                81/83 = 164 medal

                                 2nd Place: Max Hollon  (Evansdale,In.)                  81/84 = 165 medal

                                 3rd Place: Russ Fisher  (Des Moines, Iowa)           85/87 = 172 medal

Statesman Reserve:   1st Place:  Kelly Gay  (Cumming,Iowa)                  66/66 = 132 net

                                2nd Place: Peter Herrington (St. Louis, Mo.)           73/67 = 140 net

                                3rd Place:  John Roth  (Mills River, NC.)                  67/79 = 146 net

Many members of the Golf Collectors Society, the Society of Hickory Golfers, and the Hickory Golf Association joined hands and forces to welcome all of the players and guests to the 37th Heart of America Hickory Championship. God Speed and we hope to see you next year for the 38th Edition of this event.

submitted by: William W. Reed  - Heart of America Tournament Director

(attached photo is Open Division Winner John Berggren on left and Tourney Director Bill Reed on right.)